Homemade applesauce

My mom and grandma started making applesauce every Thanksgiving when I was a little girl. Well, to be honest, they may have been making it before then, but I think they started it when I was little.

My mom prefers a chunky applesauce, while my grandma’s was smooth.

This year, I’m hosting Thanksgiving (very scary and very exciting!) and I figured it might be a good idea to test drive a few recipes. I’ve made stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes and pumpkin pie before, and I’m not really worried about the vegetables. But I’ve never tried to make the applesauce or turkey. (My mom and I have already established that she will be helping with the turkey.)

So, it was time to take on the applesauce recipe.

First step: Break out the crock pot!!

I love my crock pot or slow cooker, depending on what you like to call it.

Ingredients: 8 apples,  1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water and cinnamon to taste

Directions: Peel and core the apples, then cut them into smaller pieces. Put them in crock pot and cover with sugar and water. Cook on low for 8-10 hours.  ( I did this right before bed)

Watch Out For: I managed to cut myself with the peeler. OK, that might be more because I’m a little klutzy.

How Does It Taste:  Fantastic. You could puree it if you want it to be smooth, but I opted for my mom’s chunky version.

 

And the final result…

I’m serving it as a side to pulled pork sandwiches! But you’ll have to check back later for that blog post. The pork is in the crock pot now!

2 thoughts on “Homemade applesauce

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Love: Pulled Pork « More Than Easy Mac

  2. Pingback: A week of Thanksgiving cooking « More Than Easy Mac

Leave a Reply

