I <3 books

I have been reading like crazy lately.

Well, that isn’t actually abnormal. I’ve always been a  bookworm. And of course, I wound up dating someone who loves reading just as much as me and thus, there are books everywhere.

Here’s what I’ve been reading this past month:

Angela’s Ashes

I know, I know. You’re asking how I made it this far without reading this book.

I blame my Mom. She told me I was too young to read it when it first came out and thus, I waited about 15-16 years until I was “old enough.

But, wow. This now probably ranks among some of my favorite books. I love that he told the story from a child’s perspective instead of an adult’s. I thought the story was overall heartbreaking even with lighter moments laced throughout the piece.

And on a more personal note, parts of it were relatable because my Dad is 100 percent Irish Catholic. If you’ve read it and come from a very Irish family, you probably know what I mean.

 Gone Girl

This was my book club’s pick for this month.

I loved the format of the book and the twists and turns were amazing. Basically, it was a great page turner. I doubt it will rank up there with the world’s greatest books, but once I started reading, I couldn’t put it down.

 Moneyball

I just finished this yesterday.

Yes, I saw the movie and it made me want to read the book.

Plain and simple – I love good nonfiction writing and Michael Lewis does a great job telling the story of Billy Beane and the A’s.

Leave a Reply

