Recipes

ADVENTURES IN THE WORLD OF OMELETS

I have a confession to make. I don’t know how to make an omelet. I enjoy eating them,  and I was aware that my college roommate’s boyfriend (now husband) made them frequently. But I never bothered to watch to see how it was done.  I can make great scrambled eggs, so I figured it can’t be that hard. Step one, put making an omelet on the weekend’s to-do list. I had some veggies in the fridge that I figured I could throw into it plus some shredded cheddar to top it with. I was set, right. Well, Saturday morning rolled around and I found myself convinced that I would fail at making an omelet if I did it the regular way in a frying pan.

So, I cheated.

I frequently make my scrambled eggs in the microwave if I’m in a hurry. So, I reasoned, if I just mixed the veggies and cheese in with the two scrambled eggs and some milk, it would work.
Well, sort of. It certainly didn’t look that pretty, nothing close to what you’d see in a restaurant. But it was the same basic idea. There were eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and cheese in a big blob on my plate.

Next up, conquering it in a frying pan.

INGREDIENTS

Two scrambled eggs

Two TBSP of milk (I didn’t really measure, but that seems about right)

Your choice of veggies – I used mushrooms and tomatoes.

Cheddar cheese (I had mild on hand, but I’m sure sharp would add some extra zing)

Scramble it all together and cook in the microwave for 2 to 2 ½ minutes.

Leave a Reply

