Recipes

Eating for the Week

I’m a master to-do list maker. I love crossing things off lists. It’s empowering…or something like that. Anyway, the thing that always makes it on to my weekend to-do list is figuring out the menus for the week.

I have to do it. Or else, I’ll eat at Panera every day of the week. And though I’d love to consume French onion soup in a bread bowl seven days per week, I’m thinking that probably wouldn’t be a healthy idea and my sodium intake would likely go through the roof. But I’m also trying to find healthier recipes and eat less meat overall. Don’t worry, I’m not going vegetarian on you. I still love a good steak. But, I’m trying to think about new and different options for food and up my veggie intake overall.

I’m keeping my standard perch and baked chicken recipes for the weekend. But for the week, I’m adding eggplant parmesan, tomato/mozzarella grilled cheese (wheat bread), tomato mozzarella wrap (not a new recipe for me, but I haven’t had it in a while), and red pepper stuffed with tuna salad. I actually tried the red pepper-tuna salad combo a few weeks back, but never stopped to write about it.

Here’s the recipe (Taken from:  Incredibly Easy Weeknight Meals)

Tuna Salad Stuff sweet Red Peppers

2 cans of albacore tuna packed in water

2 large celery stalks

½ cup halved green grapes

½ cup shredded sharp cheese

1/3 cup mayo

salt and black pepper

2 red bell peppers, seeded and halved

  1. Combine tuna, celery grapes, cheese and mayo in bowl and blend well. Season with salt and pepper.
  2. Divide mixture between the hollowed peppers

Some notes: I was cooking for one, so I basically cut the recipe in half. One can of tuna, one red pepper, 1 celery stalk, ¼ cup grapes and I used probably two tbsp of nonfat mayo. I also just sprinkled the cheese on top instead of measuring out ½ cup. I also used mild cheddar instead of sharp, simply because that’s what I had in my fridge at the time.

One thought on “Eating for the Week

Leave a Reply

