Recipes

Straight From the Kitchen of Mom

I have a tendency to traipse around my local grocery stores, walking up and down the aisles with no particular mission. I try to make out grocery lists before I go, but usually I just go in, grab a cart and pick things off the shelves if I think I need it.

Such was the case last Saturday afternoon when I realized I had nothing really to make for dinner other than spaghetti. And though I love spaghetti, I wasn’t in the mood. So, I picked up some sirloin filets at my local Publix.  This was followed by another problem. I actually had never made steak, so much as I had watched my mom do it.

I knew I could grill it on the George Foreman because they were small enough pieces of meat and I figured I could put pepper on it as a seasoning. But what I was really wanting was steak the way my mom  makes it. Time to call home to see what my mom marinates steak in.

The result: Soy sauce, onion powder, garlic powder, ground ginger and a “tiny bit of sugar.”  My mom never really measures anything, so I was on my own to figure that out.

Soy sauce: I poured what I thought would be a sufficient amount to cover the meat in.

Onion powder: 1 tsp

Garlic power: 1 tsp

Ginger: 1 tsp

Sugar: I sort of took a pinch of it with my fingers and sprinkled it in.

I let it sit for about two hours. I probably could have let it sit longer. I also think I needed more soy sauce. You probably can’t have too much soy sauce in this marinade. I’ll need to play around with it a few times to get down the right combo of ingredients though.
But for those of you who like something a little more standard, cooks.com has a whole big list of marinades.

Leave a Reply

