Daring to Try a New Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

I love chocolate chip cookies. I’ve been helping my mom make them since I was a little girl. Every Christmas, she’d pull out the well worn recipe that her great Aunt Bess had used for years, and I’d attempt to help, even putting on an apron so I felt like a cook.

Well, the recipe my mom uses is fantastic. Ask my friends. A grad school pal requested that I make them when she visited me in Florida a few months back. And I was more than happy to oblige.  But, this week I came across a post by Journal-Sentinel food blogger Alison Sherwood that provided a recipe for relatively healthy chocolate chip cookies. It involves less sugar and half the amount of butter and eggs that my mom’s recipe does. So, I figured why not give it a shot.

______________________________________

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
from The Healthy College Cookbook
Makes 24 cookies

Cooking spray
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup applesauce
1 egg, beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups uncooked quick-cooking oats*
1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Lightly grease a baking sheet with cooking spray.

Combine the butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar, applesauce, egg and vanilla in a large bowl. Mix thoroughly.

Combine the flour, cinnamon, salt and baking soda in a separate bowl. Gradually mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, stirring as you proceed. Stir in the oatmeal and chocolate chips.

Drop spoonfuls of dough onto the prepared baking sheet. Bake for 10 to 15 minutes, until the cookies are cooked through and beginning to brown on the bottom. Cool before removing from cookie sheet.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

__________________________________________

I will say, I still like my mom’s cookies better. Let’s be honest, you don’t make chocolate chip cookies because they’re good for you. However, these  are still quite tasty and not quite as horrible for you in the end.  But if you want the bad-for-you- but- tastes-so- good recipe, here it is.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

(From my mom’s Aunt Bess)

1 cup shortening (2 sticks of butter or margarine)

3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 white sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp hot water (I don’t know why it says hot, and I don’t think it really matters. But who am I to argue with the wisdom of a great aunt)

2 cups rolled oats

2 cups chocolate chips

Optional use of  chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C) and spray cookie tray with cooking or baking spray.

Cream shortening, brown sugar and granulated sugar. Add eggs and mix thoroughly. Combine the baking soda, salt and flour and add to the mixture.

Add oatmeal and chocolate chips and stir until well blended.

Drop by teaspoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet. Bake for 12- 15 minutes depending on your oven.

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl cream shortening, brown sugar and granulated sugar. Add eggs and mix thoroughly.
  3. Combine the baking soda, salt and flour and stir into creamed mixture
  4. Add oatmeal and chocolate chips and stir until well blended.
  5. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet. Bake for 15 minutes.
Leave a Reply

