Eggplant Parmesan

My college roommate loved making chicken parmesan. It was simple, easy and tasted so good. I mean, can you really go wrong with mozzarella cheese melted on top of chicken and tomato sauce? I think not.

But in the past few days, as I was looking for new dishes, I came across my mom’s recipe for eggplant parmesan. When I was little, she made this on nights that my sister and I would not be home because we did not like eggplant and there would be loud protests. But having recently had eggplant at a restaurant in Miami, I decided it was time to act like a grownup and resolved to make an eggplant themed dish myself. I settled on eggplant parmesan.

The amount of eggplant you need really revolves around how many people you are serving. Just one eggplant could likely serve a family of four. I have several pieces left over after making it for myself Tuesday night, and that was just for me.

Eggplant Parmesan

INGREDIENTS

· 1 eggplant, peeled and thinly sliced

· 2 eggs, beaten

· 4 cups Italian seasoned bread crumbs (I definitely didn’t need this much, try maybe 2 cups)

· 6 cups spaghetti sauce, divided

· 1 (16 ounce) package mozzarella cheese, shredded and divided

· 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese, divided

· 1/2 teaspoon dried basil

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Coat baking sheet with cooking spray.

Dip eggplant slices in egg, then in bread crumbs. Place in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake in preheated oven for 5 minutes on each side.

In a baking dish spread spaghetti sauce to cover the bottom. Place a layer of eggplant slices in the sauce. Sprinkle with mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses. Repeat with remaining ingredients, ending with the cheeses. Sprinkle basil on top.

Bake in preheated oven for 35 minutes, or until golden brown.

I actually missed the final direction of baking it for 35 minutes. I figured that the eggplant was tender from the 10 minutes already spent in the 350 degree heat, so I just needed to put it in long enough to melt the cheese. I’m not really sure what the taste difference would be because it still tasted good to me. I served it with some spinach leaves because even though I was already eating a vegetable.  I still felt like I needed to have salad.  Must have been the appearance of all that cheese and sauce.

And the best part about this dish? It didn’t involve a call home to Mom.

Eggplant \parmesan

INGREDIENTS

· 3 eggplant, peeled and thinly sliced

· 2 eggs, beaten

· 4 cups Italian seasoned bread crumbs

· 6 cups spaghetti sauce, divided

· 1 (16 ounce) package mozzarella cheese, shredded and divided

· 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese, divided

· 1/2 teaspoon dried basil

DIRECTIONS

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

2. Dip eggplant slices in egg, then in bread crumbs. Place in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake in preheated oven for 5 minutes on each side.

3. In a 9×13 inch baking dish spread spaghetti sauce to cover the bottom. Place a layer of eggplant slices in the sauce. Sprinkle with mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses. Repeat with remaining ingredients, ending with the cheeses. Sprinkle basil on top.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 35 minutes, or until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

