Recipes

Finding the Perfect Chili

I love a good pot of chili. It’s pretty much good any time of the year.  But, I’m on a mission to try out new versions. I love my mom’s chili, which is the only type I made for a while. But one day, I was forced to find a new recipe when I pretty much only remembered to buy ground meat and kidney beans at the store, and I’ve been making it every since.

Mom’s recipe: Pretty hearty and tomato-y (not really sure that’s a word, but it was the only good way to describe it)

1 pound grownd beef

1 cup chopped onion

3/4 ground pepper

1 – 1 pound can tomatoes broken up

1 – 1 pound can dark kidney beans

1 – 8 oz can tomato sauce

1 tsp salt

1-2 tsp chili powder

In heavy skillet, brown meat, onion and green pepper until meat is brown and vegetables are tender. Drain. Stir in remaining ingredients. Cover and simmer exactly.

Brown Sugar Chili (From Fix It and Forget It Cookbook)

1 lb. extra-lean ground beef

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 medium onion, chopped

2 – 14 oz cans kidney beans, drained

2 cups low sodium tomato juice

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

1 tsp chili powder (I actually put in a lot more than this)

Brown meat and onion in nonstick skillet. Stir brown sugar into the meat. Combine all ingredients in a crockpot. Cover and cook on high for two hours.

* I also made this with ground turkey for the first time yesterday. My best friend from college swears by it. It tastes quite good, but I think I miss the gound meat taste.

2 thoughts on “Finding the Perfect Chili

Leave a Reply

