Recipes · Uncategorized

Indulging My Inner Cocinera

I am fairly certain that the only food I ever ordered (or at least 75 percent of the time) from the cafeteria during grad school was the chicken quesadilla. (That has to do more with the quality of the food versus my love for quesadillas) But,  the cafeteria quesadillas, made on a greasy grill with tons of cheese, chicken and other ingredients probably weren’t the healthiest creations.

Enter sister of the cook, who thought it would be fun to give me a quesadilla maker for Christmas during my grad school year. (She was on a Mexican theme for a while. The following year, I received a margarita maker.)

The poor quesadilla maker sat unused for about a year, until this past spring when I was looking for something to make for dinner. I bought some white flour tortillas, chicken and cheese and went to work. By mistake, I looked at the nutrition labels, and realized my dinner had ended up in the 700-800 range and had very little nutritional value.

So, I made a few changes and came up with a veggie quesadilla that I like even better.

– 2 whole wheat or multigrain tortillas (Mission brand has 150 calories and 5 grams of fiber each…I found a lower cal/higher fiber brand once at the grocery store and have not been able to find it since)

– 3 Portabello mushroom slices chopped up

– 1/3 cup of chopped up tomatoes

– 1/4 cup onion

– 2/3 cup mild shredded cheddar cheese

– 2 tbsp of salsa (I like the Newman brand)

If using a quesadilla maker: Lay one tortilla flat on the machine, put 1/3 of cheese on the tortilla, followed by the veggies and then the remaining 1/3 of the cheese. Cook until it is visibly crispy and cheese is melted. I would assume you could do this in a frying pan as well, but I’ve never tried. If you use a frying pan though, I’d spray it with cooking spray first.

Nutritional value: About 590 calories, 10 grams of fiber and 18 grams of fat

Es muy buena!

IMG_1291

Leave a Reply

