It’s All About Apples

I really like apples. I don’t know why. It’s not like the “apple a day keeps the doctor away” reeled me in somehow. I just really like apples. I probably do eat several per week. An apple with peanut butter is one of my favorite snacks.

Anyway, this weekend I had planned to make apple cake, but I also wound up putting apple cheddar quesadillas on the menu after seeing a recipe for them on the Whole Foods site. (For the record, the salsa still tasted good with the apple quesadilla as opposed to a veggie or chicken one)

IMG_1296

Easy Apple Cake (Even I can’t screw this up. You basically dump all the ingredients into a bowl, mix, put into a pan and bake)

Ingredients: 1 cup sugar, 1 cup flour, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp cinnamon, ½ tsp nutmeg, ¼ cup melted butter, 1 egg, 2 tbsp hot water, 2/1/2 cups unpeeled cubed apples, ½ cup walnuts (I actually didn’t include them this time because I forgot to buy them. Oops)

Directions: In large bowl, combine sugar, flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, butter, egg and water. Mix until blended. Then stir in the apples and nuts. Spread into a greased 8- inch square pan. Bake at 35 for 35-40 minutes.

Helpful Hint: My totally unnecessary necessary kitchen tool is one of those contraptions that cores the apples and neatly slices it. I have no idea what they are actually called, but, I use mine all the time.

IMG_1297

Apple Cheddar Quesadillas

I made mine slightly differently than the Whole Foods site directs you too. For one, I have a quesadilla maker and didn’t have to deal with a frying pan. The Whole Foods site also has you use one tortilla per person, so you’d get, more or less, half a quesadilla.

I wanted a whole one.

IMG_1300

Ingredients: Two wheat tortillas, 1/3 cup chopped apple pieces, and 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese (Yes, calorie counters, I did work out today. Four and a half miles walking)

If you’re using as a quesadilla maker as I was, it’s much easier because you don’t have to figure out when to flip the tortillas in the frying pan. You also have to determine how much apple you want in your quesadilla. The recipe calls for about an apple per quesadilla (or half apple per one tortilla folded in half). I used about 1/3 cup, which I thought was sufficient. This could also vary depending on the size of the tortilla you use. Cooking time? I just sort of guess. When I hear things sizzling, I open the quesadilla maker to see if it is brown yet. If it is, time to eat.

I also served this with some spinach leaves and a glass of red wine.

IMG_1302

Verdict: I love it. Ok, seriously, we’re mixing cheese and apples here. How could that possibly be bad?

3 comments

  1. Colleen · October 27, 2009

    I am so excited that you are cooking! I wish you had time in your busy schedule in high school to take a cooking class – I would have enjoyed your enthusiasm for food!

    KEEP ON COOKN”

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Veggie Meals « More Than Easy Mac
  3. Pingback: A Nittany Lion Christmas « More Than Easy Mac

Leave a Reply

