Recipes

Zucchini Parmesan

I put an old familiar recipe on the menu for tonight. It’s been a long week, and I didn’t want the hassle of trying something new. Don’t judge me, foodies.  The recipe comes from Betty, the woman who was my babysitter when I was small.

Zucchini parmesan is a great mix of veggies, cheese, butter and breadcrumbs. And honestly, it’s probably not that healthy given that it requires a stick of butter to make. But it’s so good.

My grad school roommate calls it her “favorite thing” that I taught her to make. I don’t know if I’d go that far, but it is damn good. I accidentally used a smaller pan than I normally do, but it still turned out deliciously.

msoA63B2

I PROMISE THERE ARE VEGGIES IN THERE!

Ingredients: 3 small zucchini or 2 medium ones peeled and sliced, 2 small or 1 medium tomato sliced, 1/2 of large onion sliced, 1/4 cup melted butter and then another 1/4 cup melted butter, 1/2 tsp basil, 1 to 2 cups mozzarella, 3/4 cups seasoned bread crumbs.

Directions: Preheat oven to 450. In oblong dish, arrange zucchini slices, then tomato, then onion. Drizzle with 1/4 cup melted butter. Sprinkle with basil. Bake covered with foil for 20-30 minutes.

Remove from oven and top with half the mozzarella. Stir bread drumbs into second 1/4 cup of butter. and sprinkle on top the rest of the cheese. Cover and returnn to oven for 10-15 minutes. (Baking time depends on the size/thickness of the zucchini slices)

One thought on “Zucchini Parmesan

Leave a Reply

