Recipes

All The Other Things To Do With Zucchini

You may have noticed I was on a bit of a zucchini kick this week. It actually wasn’t intentional. But it did get me thinking about all the other things to do with zucchini because I had some leftover after making the sausage stuffed zucchini boats and the zucchini parmesan.

I was rather boring and just took the leftover zucchini for a snack at work. I tend to get hungry in the afternoon. But one of my favorite things to make is roasted vegetables.

Roasted Vegetables

Ingredients: Any veggies you like really. I use zucchini slices, portabella mushrooms, onion, and tomato. And occasionally red pepper slices. You sort of just make however much you think you will need for lunch. Throw them all in a bowl, add a tbsp of olive oil and sprinkle liberally with basil and oregano. Throw them in the oven for about 10 minutes at 350 and voila!

How to eat it: I’ve served it two ways. I’ve put the veggies on top of a mound of fresh spinach leaves for a salad like effect. But I actually prefer to eat them on a wheat wrap. So good.

Zucchini Bread

I’ve never actually made zucchini bread, but my sister loves it. There are a whole slew of recipes for it at allrecipes.com

Quiche

And finally, my grad school buddy Ken sent me a quiche recipe. (I’m compiling a cookbook of all my grad school friends’ favorite meals. We used to have dinners and potlucks all the time). I think I’ll leave that for a week from now.  But it is basically a lot of vegetables, including zucchini, and cheese in a pie crust. He recommends the Julia Child pie crust. I plan to make it a week from now. But you can find plenty of quiche recipes, with meat, veggies or seafood at just about any recipe site. Allrecipes.com is just my favorite. My best grad school gal pal Andrea (who’s in Ukraine now for the Peace Corps) showed the site to me, and I’m now addicted.

3 thoughts on “All The Other Things To Do With Zucchini

  1. We love zucchini our house. so far we’ve had it sauteed (how do you spell that?), stuffed, and in bread. Looks like there’s still a whole world of zucchini recipes out there for me to try 🙂 Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

