Recipes

Experimenting With Pesto

I cannot tell you how much I love pesto. I habitually get the same chicken pesto sandwich every time I go to a popular Tallahassee eatery. But I’ve never made it myself.

I actually bought the ingredients for it last week after reading the recipe on Elise Bauer’s Simply Recipes site. Of course, I didn’t check it too closely because when I looked at the recipe today, I realized I had only bought about half the necessary basil. So, I essentially cut the recipe in half.

More than easy mac 002

Ingredients: 2 cups fresh basil leaves, ½ cup freshly grated Parmesan-Reggiano or Romano cheese (I just used regular parmesan cheese), ½ cup extra virgin olive oil, 1/3 cup pine nuts, 3 medium sized garlic cloves, minced, salt and freshly ground pepper to taste (I actually forgot to use pepper and salt)

Instructions: Put basil leaves and pine nuts into processor and blend. Then add garlic and blend again. Slowly add the olive oil in a constant stream while the food processor is on. Stop to scrape down the sides of the food processor with a rubber spatula. Add the grated cheese and pulse again until blended. Add a pinch of salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste.

Makes 1 cup.

How to use it: I put mine on chicken. I put two small chicken tenders into the oven and broiled it for about 5-7 minute until cooked through.  I then spread the pesto over it and put it back in the oven for another minute. I then cut up the chicken into pieces and put it on a wheat wrap. I had a cup of roasted red pepper soup and a glass of sauvignon blanc with it too.

More than easy mac 005

6 thoughts on “Experimenting With Pesto

Leave a Reply

