I Can Make Soup!

Of all the things I’ve ever attempted to make, roasted red pepper soup had the most potential to be a disaster. I was making such a mess in my kitchen that I felt like I could have been in a scene of Julie and Julia.

I found the soup on Gina’s Weight Watcher’s Recipe site this morning, and added the ingredients to my grocery list. At about 5 p.m., I propped my laptop up on the upper ledge of the kitchen counter with the recipe displayed on the page.

Now, I have never roasted peppers, so I figured I should follow the directions pretty closely. It told me to grill them. As I’m 24 and live in an apartment, I don’t have a grill. I have a Foreman grill, so I figured I would try that.

Let’s just say if I relied on the Foreman grill, I’d still be trying to roast all four peppers. It turns out broiling them is ok too. Thank you, Google.

More than easy mac 001

Ingredients: 4 large roasted red peppers, 1 tsp olive oil, 1 onion chopped, 1 carrot peeled and chopped, 2 garlic cloves chopped, 1 tsp herbs de provence (I didn’t know what this meant and didn’t use it), ¼ cup fresh parsley chopped, 3 cups chicken broth, 1 medium potato peeled and chopped, ¼ cup dry white wine (I used sauvignon blanc), salt and freshly ground pepper (didn’t use it), 2 tbsp fat free sour cream (I didn’t use it, but you could top the soup with it if you want), 1/4 cup Parmigiano Reggiano cheese (just used regular parmesan cheese to sprinkle on top of soup)

Close

HeHH

Directions: Roast red peppers – If you don’t have a grill, put them in the oven and broil. Keep turning them until each side is blackened. Once the pepper is black, remove the peppers from the oven and place them in a bowl and cover. Let them sit for about 10 minutes, then remove them from the bowl and peel off the skin. Then, cut each pepper in half and remove the core and seeds.

Heat 1 tsp of oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add the onions, carrots, garlic, herbs and sauté for about 5 minutes. Add the broth, roasted peppers, potato and wine. Bring to a simmer over high heat. Decrease to medium low heat and cover. Simmer until potatoes are tender, stirring occasionally, for about 30 minutes.

Next came the fun part. The recipe suggests using an immersion hand blender to blend the soup. I had to look up a picture of it to figure out what an immersion hand blender was. These are not things 24-year-olds own.  But furthermore, I don’t own a full size regular blender/food processor. I have a tiny Hamilton Beach one.

So, I ladled a few servings at a time into the mini blender, mixed the soup, then transferred it into a separate bowl. It took a while and I spilled a lot on the counter, but I finally finished.

More than easy mac 004

Result: It tastes so good. I actually was quite shocked because I thought I had totally screwed it up. I originally was just going to save the soup for the rest of the week, but I couldn’t resist trying a cup of it at dinner with my chicken pesto wrap.

Well, it’s almost 9 p.m., which means almost time for Desperate Housewives. Au revoir!

8 comments

  1. Pingback: Healthy Menu for the Day « More Than Easy Mac
  2. megan · October 26, 2009

    wow – this is impressive! I loved the picture of the red pepper in the george foreman. 🙂 this reminds me of me when I try to cook a new recipe! Add in about a million phone calls to my mom though. cute blog!

    • khaughney · October 26, 2009

      Thanks, Megan! This was one of the few that didn’t involve a million calls to Mom! I thought it was going to be such a disaster that she wouldn’t be able to fix it over the phone. Somehow, it worked in the end.

  3. Kim · October 28, 2009

    It looked good!! Remember the good old days where we just had to walk to a dining hall. When did we grow up?? Keep up the great cooking!

  4. Pingback: Topping Yesterday’s Lunch « More Than Easy Mac
  5. Pingback: More Than Easy Mac V. Butternut Squash, Part IV…The Prep « More Than Easy Mac
  6. Pingback: Why Is Vacation Always Too Short? « More Than Easy Mac
  7. Pingback: 30 Days of Veggie Meals « More Than Easy Mac

Leave a Reply

