Recipes

Why I Suck At Making Pancakes

I bookmarked this oatmeal pancake recipe from the Houndstooth Gourmet so long ago that I don’t even know where I originally saw it.  But today was the first time I finally got around to making it. I figured oatmeal and pancakes together can’t be bad.

More than easy mac 014

Slight problem though, I am terrible at making pancakes. It’s not the mixing of the ingredients together that trips me up. It’s the act of flipping the pancake over. I struggle. My first pancake completely fell apart, the second was all scrunched up, and I burned the third.

This is why I could never work in a restaurant. My concoctions would be so ugly looking that patrons would be afraid to eat them.

More than easy mac

Overall, though, the pancakes were quite tasty, and actually not too bad for you, given the use of oatmeal and buttermilk. It makes about 15 pancakes per batch at about 93 calories a piece. (Of course, the syrup adds quite a few onto that, but you at least get a low cal starting point).

Ingredients: 2 cups Old Fashioned Quaker Oats, or other quick-cooking oatmeal, 2 cups buttermilk, 2 large eggs, 1 tablespoon honey, 2 tablespoons vegetable oil, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 2 tablespoons sugar, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt   (I used 2 tsp sugar and no salt in mine. I figured there was enough sweet stuff in them from the honey and cinnamon. I also used lowfat buttermilk.)

Directions: Add oats and buttermilk to a mixing bowl. Stir to combine and cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or preferably overnight. Add eggs, honey and oil. Stir to combine. Add the remaining ingredients and mix together.

Lightly oil a non-stick pan or griddle. Pour batter in 1/4 cup increments. Watch for the tops to bubble. Turn pancakes and cook until golden on the second side.

Add oats and buttermilk to a mixing bowl. Stir to combine and cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours, or preferably overnight (this gives the pancakes their distinctive texture). Add eggs, honey and oil. Stir to combine. Add the remaining ingredients and mix together.

Lightly oil a non-stick pan or griddle. Pour batter in 1/4 cup increments. Watch for the tops to bubble. Turn pancakes and cook until golden on the second side.

Tip:  They cook really fast, even if you have your burner set to medium heat. (Hence why a few of mine are quite dark in color now)

3 thoughts on “Why I Suck At Making Pancakes

Leave a Reply

