Recipes

Autumn Is…

Autumn is… the perfect time for stew!

And unlike my previous post where I said I should not just throw things together without reading the directions first, stew is the perfect food for that.

I’m not even sure there is a recipe for stew.

I had bought some meat for stew a few weeks back because it was on sale and put it in the freezer for the time being. I dug it out this week so I could have something fall-ish that would last a few days (i.e. Kathleen doesn’t feel like cooking days)

In my view, there is just no perfect way to make a stew. You can use what you have in the kitchen and come up with some sort of concoction! I made mine last night, and doled some onto a plate today for lunch.

More than easy mac 027

Ingredients: Stew meat (Check the beef section for it), 3 carrots peeled and chopped, a cup of frozen peas, 1 large russet potato chopped (or a few tiny potatoes…I just found a humongous potato at the store the other day), and 1 can of Swanson’s vegetable broth (you could also make a broth from beef bullion)

Directions: Brown the meat in a frying pan first, then drain the fat from the meat.  Pour broth into crock pot, then add meat, potatoes, peas and carrots. Cook for two hours on high.

More than easy mac 028

Extra tip: This definitely is missing something. I would add some garlic, salt and pepper to give it a little more flavor. It’s just OK the way it is now, but more flavor would be a definite boost.

 

Leave a Reply

