Recipes

Butternut Squash And Buttermilk Chicken

I finally got off my lazy butt and got back to cooking tonight. The past two days, I’ve been so completely unmotivated. I’ve been eating out for lunch, and not making dinner either. It’s just been one of those weeks.

But, I got out of work earlier than normal today, and so I stopped at the grocery store after going to the gym, to pick up some garlic and parmesan cheese to make a butternut squash side dish I saw the other day.

In making this dish, I learned that I apparently, I shouldn’t be allowed to post ways to make butternut squash. I originally thought that the squash couldn’t be peeled because it was so hard, like a pumpkin. But I realized today, that it peels quite easily. I peeled the squash and then microwaved it for about 4 minutes to make it a little easier to cut.  I cubed it and then followed the recipe. Much better than my Sunday night experience with it.

At least I’m learning!

Ingredients: Half a butternut squash cut and cubed, two tbsp olive oil, 1/3 cup parmesan cheese

Directions: Cut and cube butternut squash , mix with 2 tbsp olive oil and 1/3 cup parmesan cheese. Bake in oven for 50 minutes at 400 degrees.

I love this dish! So tasty.

More than easy mac 024

My main course for dinner was an over baked buttermilk chicken. My mom used to make it when I was little, and I had to do something with the extra buttermilk I had left over from the pancakes. So, I looked for a recipe online and came up with one that involved onion soup mix. Perfect. I had a random packet of onion soup mix.

See how nicely this is all coming together? See how quickly it can fall apart?

I didn’t really read the directions, and I just mixed onion soup mix, flour, and buttermilk. I cut out the 2 eggs and butter. I also just started throwing everything in a mixing bowl instead of dipping the chicken in buttermilk first and then the onion soup/flour combo. Oops.

It didn’t quite work. Memo to me: Read the recipe before you start throwing things in a bowl. You are not your mother.

More than easy mac 025

The one benefit was that the chicken was incredibly juicy. The batter coating the chicken was just a little too onion-y for me.

More than easy mac 026

Ingredients: 1 envelope Lipton golden onion recipe soup mix, 1 cup all purpose flour, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup buttermilk, 2 1/2 to 3 lb. chicken, cut into serving pieces, 1/4 cup butter, melted
Directions: Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Combine golden onion recipe soup mix with flour; set aside. Beat eggs with buttermilk. Dip chicken in buttermilk mixture, then flour mixture, coating well. Place in large shallow baking pan, on rack, and chill 30 minutes. Drizzle with butter, then bake 45 minutes or until done.
2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash And Buttermilk Chicken

  1. I know you have a busy week, but I’ve been reading through your posts and I love what you have here. I came across your blog from the foodie blog roll and I’d love to guide our readers to your site if you won’t mind.Just add your choice of foodista widget to this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

