Uncategorized

Reporting Live From Arlington, Va.!

It would have been far more exciting to say reporting live from Washington D.C., but I’m technically not in the city for the next few days. Though I will be there Saturday afternoon through Sunday, so I can say it then.

Anyway, got into town yesterday at about 10 a.m. after a 6:30 a.m. flight. Yuck.  And though I was tempted to take a nap in my beautiful hotel room, I headed out to Alexandria to meet the fabulous Tiffany Shackelford (aka my former boss) for lunch.

Picture

We were walking around her office and randomly decided to try the restaurant at the Crowne Plaza next door. Despite the waitress spilling my glass of water all over me, it was a pretty good meal. I had a caprese panini, but decided that my version was much better.

Then I jetted over (or metro-ed over) to my college roommate Jess’ house to see her and her husband, Matt. I was a bridesmaid in their May 2008 wedding and I miss her so much! They just bought a house in Fairfax, Va., so this was my first time seeing it. I’m so jealous. I want a house.

jess wedding

Left to right: Me, Jess, and our other roommate Shea

Prior to dinner, Jess took me shopping, because I had forgotten a coat and was freezing in the fall weather. We the decided to not mess with our tradition of going to the Cheesecake Factory and set off for dinner.

Unfortunately for me, I had recently looked up the Cheesecake nutritional data. This made me a sad, sad person and I don’t recommend it if you want to be thoroughly depressed. However, it will help you in picking a meal that isn’t worth 2,000 calories. The problem with the Cheesecake Factory is their portions could probably feed three people.

I did pick one of the lower calorie (and by lower, I don’t actually mean that low) and only ate about half of the pasta so that I could have some cheesecake. I figured I had walked an hour earlier that day, so it would somehow even out in the end. (That may be delusional talk, but it made me feel better at the time).

Well, I should be going. I have a session to attend soon at the Education Trust conference. And U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan will be speaking at the dinner tonight. Lots to do!

Leave a Reply

