Uncategorized

Leftovers = Survival


Pancakes! Remember when I made like 20 pancakes a few weeks ago? It was time to bring out the ones I had frozen for some breakfast.  Two pancakes (I used an old picture because the batteries died in my camera…so you see three pancakes in the photo) plus a bowl of warm apples with cinnamon is breakfast perfection.

 

 

And though I said I was going to make butternut lasagna last night, I completely failed at that. I didn’t get home until almost 8:30 p.m., and cooking just wasn’t happening. So I went with a tuna melt.  I had about 12 cans of tuna from a few months ago due to a BOGO at Publix, and I finally used up the last can.

Ingredients: 1 can of tuna, two tbsp of mayo (I use the nonfat kind), a wheat bun, and your choice of cheese. I usually use sliced cheese, but I didn’t have any, so I used the mozzarella I had bought at Walmart the other night.

Directions:  Mix tuna and mayo in a bowl and toast bun. Spread the tuna on top of each side of the bun and top with cheese. Stick the tuna melt in the oven for a few minutes at 350 degrees so the cheese melts. It’s sort of harder if you use mozzarella.

 

Important note: Leftovers and BOGOS are key to survival if you are in school or an underpaid young professional (aka young journalist).

Leave a Reply

