Recipes

Healthy Recipes Or At Least Somewhat Healthy

So, I realized yesterday that I have half a carton of eggs left and only a few days to use them up since I’m going on vacation. I’ll probably hard boil some, but my first solution was to bring out the baking pans.

A few days ago, I typed “healthy recipes” into Google just to see what would come back and it took me to Spark Recipes, which is awesome. So awesome that I italicized the word. There are lots of healthy recipes and a section of desserts that features recipes all under 100 calories per serving.

I settled on apple oatmeal muffins because we know how much I love apples.  And much like the fantastic pumpkin bread, you just have to dump all of the ingredients into a bowl and mix.

Ingredients: 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, 1 1/2 cups instant oats, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp baking powder, 3/4 tsp baking soda, pinch of salt, 1 cup applesauce, 2/3 cup skim milk, 1/4 cup sugar, 2 tbsp oil, 1 egg, 1 cup finely chopped apple

Directions: Fill a muffin cup 2/3 of the way full and bake for about 20 minutes at 400 or until the muffins are golden brown. Don’t forget the muffin/cupcake paper!

Leave a Reply

