Victory Is Mine (Maybe)

I have faced the butternut squash and I have won — maybe.

I got out of work so early today! At 4:30 p.m., I packed up my stuff and finished some errands before embarking on my quest to make butternut squash soup successfully. I had found Gina’s recipe earlier in the day (see previous post), but knew I was going to have to make some adjustments, partially because I have a very tiny, one serving blender. It isn’t made for soup.

Anyway, here’s what Gina called for.

Ingredients: 1 butternut squash, 1 peeled and chopped carrot, 1 small onion, 1 celery rib, 6 cups chicken or vegetable broth, 2 garlic cloves, halved, 4 sage leaves, 1/2 cup 1 percent milk, salt and pepper to taste.

I ditched the celery and used four cups of broth instead of six. I was also using about 3/4 of a butternut squash because I had already used part of it for the lasagna. I also used bay leaves instead of sage.

Here’s her directions.

Directions: Peel the squash and remove the seeds. Cut into cubes. In a large heavy pot, combine squash, carrots, celery, onion, garlic, sage and broth and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer on low heat for about 40 minutes, until squash is tender.

Discard the sage and using an immersion blender, puree the soup. Add milk and adjust the salt and pepper to taste and serve. Great topped with freshly grated parmesan cheese.

And my version…First of all, butternut squash is simply a bitch to cut. I have to use the biggest knife I have and it still hurts my hand. So, first off, after you peel the squash, cut it in half and  put it in the microwave for about four to five minutes to soften it up. This will make it so much easier to cut it.

I then cut up the squash into fairly small pieces and chopped up the rest of the vegetables. I also quartered the garlic instead of cutting it in half.

You then put everything (minus the milk) into a huge pot and let it simmer for 30 minutes. One would think I could easily slide all of the veggies off the cutting board into the pot, but no, that would have been to easy. The squash was putting up a fight!

At 30 minutes, add the milk and stir. Then transfer everything to a blender. Or do a few servings at a time in the blender and transfer that to a new bowl. Remember to remove the bay leaves before blending!

Success!! (At least I think so)

OK, so here’s the deal. I don’t know what butternut squash soup is supposed to taste like. The first time I had butternut squash (that I know of) was when I made the butternut squash-mushroom risotto recipe a few weeks back. S0, as far as the soup goes, I don’t really know.

I think it tastes great, but I am the one who cooked it. So, I’m declaring this one a win simply because I made something that tasted pretty good with butternut squash. I had one cup for dinner and put the rest in the freezer for next week when I get back from my Thanksgiving break (I still talk about my vacations like I’m in school).

And for the record, I’m not making anything with butternut squash again until this time next year.

Leave a Reply

