Recipes

My Love/Hate Relationship With Food Mags

Good morning blog world!

I’m back in Florida after a long day of traveling yesterday and am pretty tired, but it was such a good weekend at the parents’ house. I really wish I could see them more often.

Anyway, on my flight, I had a few magazines with me, including Bon Appetit.  And I realized that that magazine intimidates the heck out of me.

Is this just me or do food magazines scare other people too?

Seriously, have you looked at the December cover of Bon Appetit? It’s gorgeous. But do I think I can make that fantastical cake? No way in hell.

That’s kind of the reason why I started this blog. A lot of my friends are in the same boat as me. They’re young professionals, just a few years out of school, and trying to navigate the cooking world beyond the easy chicken or pasta recipe.  The blog keeps me learning new recipes and reading other people’s blogs. And the blogs are way less intimidating because many writers aren’t self conscious about showing their screw ups.

So now,  an easy recipe, courtesy of my mom’s microwave cookbook that I made this morning before running off to work (or driving rather).

Homemade granola!! (I love granola, but don’t buy it too much because I will continually snack on it instead of eating it for breakfast.)

Ingredients: 2 cups rolled oats, ½ cup chopped almonds, 1/3 cup wheat germ, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup honey, 1 tsp vanilla, ½ cup raisins

Directions: Mix together in a microwave-safe container and microwave for 3-4 minutes.

 

Review: Hmm, didn’t taste quite like the stuff my mom made. But, she did use walnuts instead of almonds. Also, I was lacking wheat germ so I used wheat bran, which is a bit healthier.  I just scooped some out of the dish while it was still hot, so I probably need to let it settle a little bit before really trying it.

Well, it’s time for work. Happy Monday to you all!

2 thoughts on “My Love/Hate Relationship With Food Mags

Leave a Reply

