2 Parties Down, Three To Go

Cooking, like journalism, is best done on deadline.

OK, that might not be true, but it’s my mantra for tonight, as I wait for the timer to beep  to tell me I can rescue my cookie sheet laden with sausage balls from the oven.

I’ve had a hectic week, so far. You know, the type where you get home at the end of the day (which is not 9 to 5 to begin with), and you just want to sit and not do anything. That’s been the first half of the week. It also included party 1 ( a Christmas tree lighting at the Governor’s mansion) and party 2 (a Mary Kay party hosted by my friend Brittany).

All this “partying” plus work had led to little post work productivity, and though I’ve intended to cook  for my company party/luau since Sunday, it has not happened.

Well, the party is tomorrow, so unless I decided to wake up at the crack of dawn, cooking needed to happen tonight. So at about 10:30 p.m. after I finished my soup (I hadn’t had dinner yet) , I got out the mixing bowls and some sausage, cheese and Bisquick.

The result is basically, a cheesy, sausage biscuit. It makes a great appetizer!

I shared a similar recipe  the other day for the sausage balls my mom makes every year at Christmas, but now, here’s my mom’s recipe. Plus a picture!

Ingredients: 1 lb hot or sweet Italian sausage, 1 lb sharp cheddar cheese, shredded (if you need to think about conversions, 1 lb = 16 ounces, and one pack of cheese is about 8 oz), 3 cups Bisquick, 3/4 cup water

Directions: Brown sausage after removing casing, drain well and let cool. Make sure the sausage is broken up into small pieces.  Mix remaining ingredients, add sasuage and roll into 1 inch balls. Place 2 inches apart on greased (or foiled) baking sheet. Bake at 400 for 12-15 minutes. (I only needed 12)

And now, because, I just feel the need to spread more Christmas cheer, another youtube clip! Dudley Moore, David Huddleston and John Lithgow made Santa Claus, the Movie in the 1980s and my mom used to make us watch it every Christmas. It’s not my favorite Christmas movie, but I still like it.

In this scene, the man who would be Santa is taken to his new workshop for the very first time. It has that magical Christmas feel to it.

Leave a Reply

