Thank God for Bisquick

I’m continuing with the whole cooking on deadline mantra from two days ago. And in fact, I’m really pushing deadline at this point.

Last night was my company’s Christmas luau, which featured a pig roast. Trust me, it’s a little weird to see a whole pig on the table. Not sure how I feel about it.  But the party was a big hit with my coworkers and some other colleagues from other news organizations who work out of Tallahassee.

But at some point during the evening, it occurred to me that I had not lifted a finger for today’s noon potluck at my company’s office building.  The building landlords throw the party and everyone brings something. I had this grand idea of doing it after the party, but when I got home at about 11:30 p.m., I quickly concluded that wouldn’t happen.

(How Julie Powell got through “Art of French Cooking” and still slept is beyond me. I can’t even find time to make a quick dish for a potluck.)

This is where we get the slogan, “Thank God for Bisquick.”

I rummaged through the pantry at about 7:30 a.m.  to figure out what I could make and happened to look at the side of the Bisquick box. The box featured possibly the easiest dinner roll recipe. Bisquick, I ❤ you.

From the recipe on the box:

Ingredients: 2 1/4 cup Bisquick, 2/3 cup milk

Directions: Mix the two ingredients together and put in spoonfuls onto a cookie tray. Bake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes.

Confession: I haven’t tried them, so I can’t vouch for their tastiness. So, I’ll just put out an apology to my colleagues right now if they taste like crap.

And now… a clip from the original Miracle on 34th Street, where Santa meets a Dutch girl who can’t speak English.

One comment

  1. Mom · December 11, 2009

    Seriously, you took Bisquick rolls? At least you could have dressed them up with shredded cheddar and garlic powder.

Leave a Reply

