Early Morning Cooking — Sausage Dish

I failed at cooking yesterday. It was a long day, and it just wasn’t happening when I got home. I’d also had a big lunch, so I didn’t really want dinner. Two clementines and a banana sufficed.

I redeemed myself this morning. I’ve been waking up unusually early this week (6:30 a.m.-ish) and so after I got ready for work, I thought it would just be a wonderful idea to make my sausage dish so that I could just come home and heat it up tonight.

Note to self: Eye makeup should not be applied prior to cooking a dish that involves cutting up onions.

Anyway, on to the cooking. Despite the problem of my mascara running while cutting the onions, the recipe is pretty easy to make. It’s one of my favorites, and my Mom has made it for years.  It’s a good, hearty, winter dish. (Though, I live in Florida now, so winter is relative)


Ingredients:1 lb Italian sausage, 1 cup onion, ½ cup chopped green pepper,1 clove garlic, chopped, 1 can (16 oz) stewed tomatoes,1 cup tomato juice,1 (4 oz) can button mushrooms, 2 beef bouillon cubes, ½ tsp Italian seasoning, 1 cup parmesan

Directions: Cut up sausage into chunks then in large pot or skillet, brown and drain.  Add onion, green pepper and garlic. Cook and stir until tender. Add tomatoes, juice, mushrooms, bouillon, and seasoning. Mix well. Simmer uncovered for 30 minutes. Stir in ½ cup cheese, heat through. Serve with remaining cheese.

Now I just have to eat it! That’s either my lunch or dinner. And, I can eat it at my table, which is now fully constructed with chairs!

OK, I confess that there is still one chair that needs to be put together, but I have the table up against a wall, so I only have room for three chairs.

Sausage Dish

1 lb Italian sausage

1 cup onion

½ cup chopped green pepper

1 clove garlic, chopped.

1 can (16 oz) stewed tomatoes

1 cup tomato juice

1 (4 oz) can button mushrooms

2 beef bouillon cubes

½ tsp Italian seasoning

1 cup parmesan

In large skillet, brown sausage and drain. Add onion, green pepper and garlic. Cook and stir until tender. Add tomatoes, juice, mushrooms, bouillon, and seasoning. Mix well. Simmer uncovered for 30 minutes. Stir in ½ cup cheese, heat through. Serve with remaining cheese.

Leave a Reply

