Recipes

The Gingerbread Setup

Five days til Christmas!!

I get positively giddy about Christmas. I don’t know why. I just can’t help it. I’ve actually been humming “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year” to myself all morning.

Oh, and if you don’t live in the Mid Atlantic, have you seen photos of that massive snowstorm that hit there this weekend? Craziness! I just hope it doesn’t affect my flight from Florida to PA on Wednesday.

I stole this picture from my friend Kat’s Facebook page. I believe her car is somewhere in the snow here. She lives in Virginia and is a copy editor/page designer for the Staunton News-Leader. She also freelances for USA Today because she’s awesome.

Anyway, no snow in Tallahassee, though that would be something to see. I had a pretty fabulous, low key weekend that involved a lot of food and hanging out with my lovely friend Lynn. Lynn was one of the first good friends I made in Tallahassee and I don’t know what I’d do without her. She’s awesome.  We did some shopping, walked six miles (yay exercise) and ate some good food.

On the agenda today — Christmas cards and gingerbread cookies! I usually am a bit better at sending out cards, but not this year. I seem to be behind on everything this year. I’m thinking that living in Florida is warping my sense of the season since it’s not really cold here. Hmm.

I was having way too difficult of a time finding cookie cutters, so I settled on this pan I found at Michael’s for gingerbread cookies.

And it also had a recipe on the back…

You probably can’t read what it says (or well, at least, I can’t), so I’ll type it out for you. There’s also a Spanish translation, which I thought about using while cooking to test my memory, but I am too afraid of screwing up.

Ingredients: 4 cups flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup molasses, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon allspice, 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves, 1/2 teaspooon ground cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Directions: Preheat oven to 375. Spray pan with cooking spray. In large mixing bowl, combine 1 1/2 cups of flour and remaining ingredients at low speed of mixer until blended, scraping the bowl often. Increase speed to medium and beat two minutes or until very smooth. Reduce speed to low; add remaining flour, 1 cup at a time until dough is very stiff. If you are using a small mixer, the last cup of flour may need to be stirred in or kneaded by hand.

Press dough into pan cavities, Bake 6-8 minutes or until edges are slightly browned.

OK, well, I’ll let you know how the Gingerbread and cards turn out! Until then!

Leave a Reply

