Recipes

12 Days of Cookies — My Failure

Twelve Days of Cookies? What was I thinking?!

I made it to five, and it felt like I was baking all the time. I also broke my mixer while making gingerbread. I need to go pick up a new one later today, whenever I get out of bed.

But, I did expand my cookie repertoire from just chocolate chip cookies, which is good.

I made…

Chocolate chip cookies (didn’t post, but here’s the recipe)

Peanut Butter Blossoms (I think those stayed in my kitchen)

Pecan Snowballs for a work party

Chocolate Peppermint Bark for a potluck

Gingerbread Men for Ronald McDonald House

I may be able to work one or two more recipes in by Jan. 1 since there will be New Years festivities to attend. I’m thinking about peanut butter bars.

Here’s the recipe in case you want to try them. I made them for the first time a year ago for a work party, and discovered they are very difficult to cut neatly. I haven’t actually tried to make them a second time. But I had some at home this weekend because Mom always makes them. 🙂

Peanut butter bars

Ingredients: 1 2/3 cup graham cracker crumbs, 2 cups sugar, 1 cup crunch peanut butter, 1 cup butter or margarine, 6 to 12 oz semisweet chocolate chips

Directions: Combine graham cracker crumbs and sugar. In saucepan, melt peanut butter and butter together, stirring until smooth. Stir into crumb mixture. Firmly press into 11 x 9 pan.

Melt 6 oz of chocolate and coat chilled bars.

Kudos to the people who made it through all 12 days! I tip my hat to you. I, however, was more than content with five batches.

One thought on “12 Days of Cookies — My Failure

Leave a Reply

