Recipes

The Amazingness of Grilled Cheese

Is there anyone who doesn’t like grilled cheese? It’s the ultimate comfort food. OK, maybe if you are lactose intolerant, it’s not your fave, but you get the point.

My grad school pal Ken had made a special grilled cheese a few months back, and my other grad school pal Andrea was so impressed that she emailed me the recipe for a cookbook I’m putting together of all my grad school friends’ favorite recipes.

I made it last night for dinner and it was really delicious.

Ingredients : Two slices of bread (I used wheat), one slice cheese (Ken recommends cheddar, but I used mozzarella), butter or margarine, rosemary, garlic powder

Directions

Spray skillet with cooking spray. Preheat skillet over medium heat.

Generously butter one side of a slice of bread. Sprinkle rosemary and garlic powder on buttered side of bread. Place bread butter-side-down onto skillet. Add cheese and any other ingredients you’d like to make it your own, such as sliced ham, turkey, chicken, tomato, fresh basil, etc.

Repeat buttering and seasoning process for second slice of bread and place butter-side-up on top of sandwich.

Grill until lightly browned and flip over. Continue grilling until cheese is melted.

I paired it with a Campbell’s harvest soup that was a light version. Note to self: It was not tasty and do not buy again. I don’t know if it was because it was a light version or it was just the combo of spices, but I did not like it.

Leave a Reply

