Recipes

The First New Recipe of 2010

Happy Monday! (AKA the first day of work in 2010)

It’s also week one of my 2010 resolution to make a new recipe per week.

The recipe: Easy Teriyaki Chicken from the “Fix It and Forget It.”

Ingredients: 1 cup Teriyaki sauce, 20 oz pineapple chunks, 2-3 lbs of chicken, and a crock pot.

Directions: Put everything in a crock pot and cook on high for 4-6 hours or low for 6 -8 hours.

Well first, I only bought about 16 oz of pineapple, so there was slightly less pineapple than required. But also, there was no way I was going to make 2 – 3 lbs of chicken given that I live by myself. So, yesterday afternoon, I just put a few pieces into the crock pot, so I could have leftovers.

You would have thought that I would know to decrease the amount of sauce since I was cooking fewer pieces of chicken, but I didn’t question that concept as I dumped everything into the pot.  There are reasons that cookbooks give measured amounts of ingredients.

Since I didn’t adjust the ingredients, the combination of too much sauce and not enough pineapple made it a little too salty for me in the end. I also take issue with the amount of time the cookbook said to cook it. I didn’t even make it four hours and I thought the chicken was a little dry. I’m not sure if it expects you to use frozen chicken, but it does not say so in the directions.

But I think the recipe definitely has potential, I just need to tweak it a bit since I apparently can’t follow directions. 🙂

OK, I gotta go now and  find something to write about for my real job.

Happy eating!

2 thoughts on “The First New Recipe of 2010

Leave a Reply

