News

It’s The Weekend!

Anyone out there happy it’s Saturday? I know I am. After a long week, I went out for a little bit last night, but was home very early and crashed by 10 p.m. Lame, I know. But I was exhausted!

However, as a consequence of falling asleep so early, I found myself awake at 7 a.m. The sun wasn’t even up yet.  Of course, it’s pouring right now, so I probablywouldn’t have been able to tell when the sun was coming up anyway. So, I’m sitting here writing a post and making out my grocery shopping list.

Anyway, food news of the week!

* Nestle USA is still having problems with its cookie dough, announcing an E. coli outbreak at a Danville, Virginia plant. The cookie dough never left the plant so there is no need for a recall, but the company is temporarily shutting down the plant so it can conduct more testing.

* Slash Food has an interview with Michael Pollan, author of In Defense of Food and the Omnivore’s Dilemma. His new book is called Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual, which contains 64 rules for eating wisely.

* New Jersey restaurants are working to comply with a new law that requires chains with 20 or more sites nationwide to post the nutrition information on the menus. Both nearby New York City and Philadelphia have also started to do this, and it’s probably a trend that’s catching. More and more people are trying to eat healthier, and it’s a politically easy bill to pass.

* How to cook a hard boiled egg…I think you get the point.

* And most importantly, try to remember the people in Haiti. The World Food Programme is seeking $279 million to feed people who have been displaced by the earthquake, and Voice of America reports that food and aid workers have started to arrive, but there is a lack of organization and security.

OK,  I’m out. It’s about 8:20 a.m. now, so I won’t feel totally ridiculous if I go to the grocery store now. Hope you all have a great weekend!

One thought on “It’s The Weekend!

Leave a Reply

