Recipes

Mom’s Broccoli Cheese Soup

What would I do without my mom’s recipes? I seriously don’t know.

During Christmas vacation two years ago (when I was a lowly grad student), my mom taught me how to make broccoli cheese soup.  And since then, I’ve made it often, particularly when I want to have something that will last me through the week.

So, to save me from the Florida Capitol cafeteria food, I made soup this afternoon that I can take to work throughout this week.

Those little green specs would be broccoli.

Ingredients: 4 tbsp finely chopped onions, 5 tbsp butter, 5 tbsp flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, 4 cups milk, 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, 4 chicken bouillon cubes, 3 cups water, 2 bay leaves, 20 oz frozen broccoli

Directions: In saucepan, cook onions in butter until tender. Stir in flour, salt and pepper until well blended. Add four cups milk.  Then stir, and stir and stir some more. You have to stir continuously until the mixture thickens. You will think it’s not going to thicken until all of the sudden it has. Add cheese and stir until melted. Then, remove from heat.

In big bot, dissolve bouillon cubes in water. Add bay leaves and bring to boil. Add broccoli and cook according to package directions. Then add the cheese mixture and stir until well blended.

Aside from the stirring, this recipe is really easy and doesn’t take too long to prepare. And it’s kind of comforting — it reminds me of home!

The only problem I have with cooking ahead is I frequently want to eat whatever I’m making right away, and not save it. 🙂 But I was good, and put the cover over the pot right away, so I will save it for the week.

Well, it looks like the holiday is coming to a close. I hope those of you with days off enjoyed it and got some extra relaxation and/or fun in.

And to commemorate MLK, please check out this great photo slideshow from Slate.

One thought on “Mom’s Broccoli Cheese Soup

Leave a Reply

