Recipes

Sunday, Sunday

I was going to  complain about it being the end of the weekend, but there’s still another day because of the holiday. I love days off!

And what better way to recover from a long week than with pancakes!

I discovered I have to burn three pancakes before I can make 11 good ones.

I used the old standard Bisquick recipes. Not as adventurous as the oatmeal buttermilk pancakes, but you can’t really screw up these pancakes.

Ingredients: 2 cups Bisquick, 2 eggs, 1 cup milk

Directions: Mix all together and pour out mixture 1/4 cup at a time. When pancakes start to bubble, flip to other side. Watch carefully, so they don’t burn.

Instead of syrup, I used warm applesauce to top the pancakes? Does anyone else (besides my sister and mom) do that? I love pancakes with applesauce.

I also made up for not exercising yesterday by putting in 5 miles with my friend Lynn, and then was all responsible and ran errands. Steal of the day? A $5 DVD of Roman Holiday from Target. I went into Target to buy a new water bottle and a lunch box, but I came out with those things plus the movie.

Pretty soon, it was time for dinner. I was trying my hand at tilapia, which I’d never had or cooked. I checked out a few recipes on allrecipes.com, but didn’t find any where I had all the ingredients. So, I sort of made one up.

Ingredients: 1 fish fillet, 1 tbsp of olive oil, 1/3 cup parmesan cheese, 1 tbsp onion powder, oregano sprinkled liberally

Directions: Coat fish with olive oil. Mix the parmesan, onion powder and oregano together in separate bowl. Then coat fish in the mixture. Broil fish for about 10 minutes on each side (maybe less). Fish is done if is white and not translucent.

I loved this! I wish I knew how good tilapia was before this. I always make perch, but I think I like tilapia better. The cheesey mixture seemed to really set off the fish flavor nicely.

I’ve decided the fish can count as one of the new recipes for 2010. But, I’m also trying an overnight, crock pot oatmeal recipe tomorrow.

OK, gotta go. Watching the Golden Globes and texting back and forth with my sister about the fashion. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Sunday, Sunday

  1. You’re not alone in the “applesauce as a condiment” department – I’ve been doing that nonstop lately! haha. In fact, this morning it was the dip for my french toast 😉

    That tilapia recipe looks great! I’m a big tilapia and salmon fan – I love it with a honey dijon/balsamic glaze.

Leave a Reply

