Recipes

Up And At ‘Em

Good morning!!

Back to the grind today. I was kind of  in an “I want to kick ass tomorrow” type of mood last night, so I laid out all the clothes, packed part of my lunch, and made overnight oatmeal in my crock pot.

And this morning, I sneaked in a 2 mile walk before I got ready for work. Yay me!

I tagged this oatmeal recipe in my crock pot cookbook a few weeks ago for my new recipes in 2010 project and put it on my “t0 cook” list for this week. Therefore, I give you new recipe # 4 of 2010. (Cue music)

Overnight Apple Oatmeal

Ingredients: 2 cups milk, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tbsp. margarine/butter, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1 cup dry rolled oats, 1 cup apples, chopped, 1/2 cup fat-free half-and-half (Optional use of 1/2 cup raisins and 1/4 cup walnuts)

Directions: Combine in the crock pot and cook overnight on low.

The Good: The oatmeal is really creamy and very filling.

The Bad: I feel like the flavor of the apples is masked. I don’t know if the half-and-half did it or what.

The Ugly: Though it only sat from 10:30 p.m. to 6:30 a.m. (6-8 hours per the recipe’s instructions),  the oatmeal burned at the edges, and my crock pot isn’t looking too pretty at the moment.

Eeew!

OK, well enough dawdling. Time for work!

Leave a Reply

