TGIF!

Whoa, have I really not posted since Tuesday morning?!

I guess that says a lot about my week. It probably also says a lot that I was really, super excited about sleeping until 7:30 a.m. this morning. đŸ™‚

But it’s the weekend in about two to three hours! What’s everybody doing?

I’m starting off my weekend with happy hour at a local establishment with my friends per our usual Friday tradition. They serve a different $1 drink every day, and Friday = margaritas.

This got me thinking about what the best appetizers/snacks to make for a party or potluck. And since I have not made anything since the oatmeal and broccoli cheese soup earlier this week, I am relying on suggestions from a few friends (who were available on gchat at 2:30 p.m. on a Friday).

* My favorite is the cheesy sausage balls that my mom taught me. I passed the recipe on to my colleague Shannon after she had them at one of the many Christmas parties I went to during December.

* From grad school pal Ariel, a public radio reporter in West Lafayette, Ind. — Spinach artichoke dip. Sadly, Ariel won’t give me the recipe for this. It’s a secret apparently. Boooo.

* Another grad school pal, Andrea, a political reporter in Nashville, chimed in with bruschetta before she had to run off to cover a story.  I’ve been meaning to try this recipe though. I love bruschetta!

* Lauren, a senior journalism student at Penn State, says pigs in a blanket. “I’d have to say definitively pigs in a blanket though, i make that for every family party we host,” she wrote.  Here’s a recipe from cooks.com

* Former roommate Stephanie, a journalist in D.C., says mushroom crostini, and proceeds to give me the recipe over gchat. She developed her own.

Ingredients: Two or three different types of mushrooms (She likes portabellas and porcini  mushrooms), garlic, olive oil, parsley, loaf of French bread.

Directions: Clean mushrooms and saute them with garlic and olive oil. Then mix them in a bowl with parsley. Slice bread and toast the baguettes.  Place the mushrooms on the toasted baguettes and serve.

Tip from Stephanie: Whole Foods usually sells dried mushrooms that I like using. You just have to soak them in warm water for about 30 mins prior to using.

OK, gotta go. Hope everybody has a fabulous Friday!!

UPDATE 3:42….I apparently guilted Ariel into emailing me the recipe.  Will be showcasing it soon!

Leave a Reply

