Recipes

Kick Ass Sesame Chicken

I am going to sound like a little kid right now, and I am fully prepared to be mocked for it, most likely by my sister.

I made those amazing sesame chicken, and I didn’t have to call Mom once!!! (sorry for the extra exclamation marks, I was excited) New recipe #6 of 2010 was all about deliciousness. This is definitely going on the new favorites list.

I got the recipe from the Martha Stewart cooking site, and am now apparently a devotee. The sesame chicken was sweet and light, not as heavy as you’d see in many Chinese restaurants. It took a little time to prepare, but it was so worth it.

Ingredients: 3/4 cup brown rice, 3 tablespoons honey, 2 tablespoons sesame seeds, 2 tablespoons soy sauce,1 garlic clove, finely chopped or crushed with a garlic press, 2 large egg whites,1/4 cup cornstarch, 1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breast halves, cut into 2-inch chunks, 2 tablespoons vegetable oil, such as safflower, 1 1/2 pounds broccoli, cut into large florets

Directions: Place a steamer basket in a large saucepan, and fill with 1 inch water; set aside for broccoli. Cook rice according to package instructions. Meanwhile, make sauce: In a small bowl, combine honey, sesame seeds, soy sauce, and garlic; set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together egg whites and cornstarch. Add chicken; season with salt and pepper, and toss to coat.

In a large nonstick skillet, heat 1 tablespoon oil over medium-high. Add half the chicken; cook, turning occasionally, until golden and opaque throughout, 6 to 8 minutes. Transfer to a plate; repeat with remaining tablespoon oil and chicken. Return all the chicken to skillet; add reserved sauce and scallions, and toss to coat.

Meanwhile, place saucepan with steamer basket over high heat; bring water to a boil. Add broccoli, and cook until crisp-tender, 4 to 6 minutes. Serve sesame chicken with broccoli and rice.

OK, here’s what really went down: While I would like everyone to think that I followed Martha’s directions oh-so faithfully, I didn’t.

First of all, I have this inability to make rice. I’ve tried, but I always screw it up. I either burn it or don’t cook it long enough. I don’t know why I can’t make rice, but I just can’t. So, 90 second rice in the micro it was.

I also didn’t quite steam the broccoli like Martha suggested. That was because I didn’t buy fresh broccoli. I had a bag of frozen broccoli florets in the freezer. So, out came the pot and water to cook the broccoli.

And I keep bags of frozen chicken breasts on hand, so I took out two pieces (one was huge and one was really small), let them thaw, and then cut them up. So no, I didn’t use fresh chicken breasts.  Oh, and I definitely didn’t use safflower, but some generic Winn Dixie oil. What can I say? Girl on a budget, here. 🙂

And in the end, it all worked out. I have a lot left over too, so I can eat it later this week.

OK, that’s all for me! I have to go pack for a biz trip to Tampa tomorrow.  Hasta mañana!

3 thoughts on “Kick Ass Sesame Chicken

  1. Nice job! Sometimes I call my mom for the dumbest recipe questions! Don’t be embarrassed 🙂

    Oh and heck yes to making this budget friendly. I’m sure it tasted no different than if you had used safflower oil (whatever that is!)

Leave a Reply

