From the Sister

A guest post from my 21-year-old sister, Sarah!

When I’m bored I cook. When it snows. I cook. And this weekend, it snowed so much that I began planning feasts,dairy-free feasts, but feasts nonetheless (dairy free because of potential Crohn’s disease). And by feast I mean a snack that can be eaten morning, noon, or night.

So off I went searching and searching allrecipes.com for the perfect non-dairy Crohn’s-approved recipe. There were quite a few dairy-free recipes under the “quick breads: category. I love quick breads of any kind — banana, orange (strange and delicious), zucchini etc. What was missing though was coffee cake. Many a morning have I loomed over the coffee and danish table at work deciding which piece of coffee cake shall be devoured. But the problem with coffeecake is that there’s typically milk and sour cream in the recipe, both big no no’s obviously.

So I found it! I found the perfect Crohn’s friendly coffee cake recipe.

Ingredients: 1 (18.25 ounce) package yellow cake mix, 1 (3.4 ounce) package instant vanilla pudding mix, 1 (3.4 ounce) package instant butterscotch pudding mix, 4 eggs, 1 cup water, 1 cup vegetable oil, 1 cup packed brown sugar, 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon, 1 cup chopped walnuts
Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×13 inch baking pan, or a 10 inch Bundt cake pan.

In a medium bowl, stir together the cake mix, vanilla pudding mix, and butterscotch pudding mix. Add the eggs, oil and water, mix until well blended. In another bowl, stir together the brown sugar, cinnamon and nuts. Pour half of the batter into the pan, spread evenly. Sprinkle with half of the nut mixture. Cover with the rest of the batter, and sprinkle with the rest of the nut mixture.

Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven, then turn the oven down to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C) and bake for an additional 35 to 40 minutes.

It turned out wonderfully. But I do admit that I don’t exactly read directions that well; there are many embarrassing stories involving my calamities in the kitchen.  Firstly, I didn’t have the proper amount of pudding mix, but it didn’t particularly matter, as I could still taste it fine. Secondly, I didn’t pour the dry mixture of nuts, cinnamon, and brown sugar into half of the batter. I merely put the entirety of the batter in the pan, topped it with the mixture, baked it, and put the rest of the mixture on after.

But overall, delish. 🙂

One comment

  1. Jenna · February 12, 2010

    Recipes are slowly catching up with people’s needs . My niece has severe allergies and her birthday cake used to look so sad because it lacked, well, all of the good ingredients. Each year, it gets fluffier and more appetizing. I hope it’s the same for your dietary needs 🙂

Leave a Reply

