Recipes

Strawberry season

One of the things that I love about summer is all of the fruit that comes into season — peaches, cantaloupe, watermelon and strawberries.

Well, it’s not summer yet, but in Florida, luckily, the strawberry season begins even earlier because of the warmer weather. In fact, there is even a strawberry festival in Plant City, which is near Tampa, in early March. So, I was very happy to look at my local grocery store ad the other day to see that strawberries were on sale two for $6.

I will confess that I have pretty much devoured a carton and a half since Saturday, but I can’t help it. I love strawberries! And one of my favorite things to do with strawberries is to put them into a salad. Hence, last night’s dinner.

________

Ingredients: Fresh spinach leaves (your choice on how much), 1 chicken breast, Italian dressing, four or five strawberries (I think I originally took out more, but I ate a few while I was cutting them up)

Directions: Marinate chicken in Italian dressing, then cook at 350 for 30 minutes, flipping it halfway through. Separately, wash and cut strawberries in half and arrange them on bed of spinach leaves. When chicken is cooked, cut into pieces and mix in with the salad.

________

OK, not the hardest recipe in the world, so there wasn’t exactly a learning component to it for me,  but I just had to share because, well, strawberries are just awesome . I predict more stawberry recipes in the near future. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Strawberry season

  1. Don’t you think you should mention (as a point of disclosure) that you hate salad dressing? 🙂

    I had to read the article twice to figure out why something seemed to be missing. LOL (because you know I had to mention it…)

    P.S. I can’t wait for fruit season to start in Ukraine. Those strawberries made my mouth water!

Leave a Reply

