Recipes

I Too Can Cook Pork Tenderloin

Greetings and happy Monday to you all.  Hope you all had a stellar weekend.

I, in an odd turn of events, wound up in my office last night from 9 p.m. to 11:30 p.m. because of a breaking news story.  Let me tell you, it’s very weird to be there on a Sunday night, but luckily, a reporter from another paper was in the office across the hall, so I wasn’t totally alone.

Thankfully, before all this newsiness occurred, I got around to making my dinner — apple stuffed pork tenderloin and rosemary-garlic potatoes.

I will tell you I was a little nervous about making the pork tenderloin because I’ve never even attempted to make something like that before.  But, it was on sale at the grocery store, so I figured now was the time.

(I should admit, in full disclosure, that I called my Mom three times over the course of two days with questions about this endeavor.)

I’d made the potatoes before, so I wasn’t particularly worried about that part of the dish. So, I focused on the tenderloin. Let me tell you, it wasn’t a pretty process, but it got the job done. The most difficult part was tying the pork together at the end.

Overall, I’d rate it a success for my first time out. The flavor of the apple stuffing didn’t seem to permeate the meat though, but my Mom points out that now I know the basic concept and can try a different method next time.

And with that, apple-stuffed pork tenderloin.

Ingredients: 2 cloves garlic, minced, 1 tsp coarse salt, 1 tsp dried rosemary, 1/2 tsp dried thyme, 1/2 tsp black pepper,  1 boneless center cut pork loin roast (4 to 5 pounds), 1 tbsp butter, 2 large apples, peeled cored and thinly sliced, 1 medium onion cut into thin strips (about 1 cup), 2 tbsp brown sugar, 1 tsp Dijon mustard, 1 cup apple cider or apple juice

Note: I actually cut the recipe in half because my meat was 2.5 pounds. I didn’t really think I needed a 5 pound roast just for me.

Directions: Preheat oven to 325°F. Combine garlic, salt, rosemary, thyme and pepper in small bowl. Cut lengthwise down roast almost to, but not through bottom. Open like a book. Rub half of garlic mixture onto both sides of pork.

Melt butter in large skillet and add apples and onion; cook and stir 5 to 10 minutes or until soft. Stir in brown sugar and mustard. Spread mixture evenly onto one cut side of roast. Close halves; tie roast with kitchen string at 2-inch intervals. Place roast on rack in shallow roasting pan. Pour apple cider over roast. Rub outside of roast with remaining garlic mixture.
Roast, uncovered, basting frequently with pan drippings 2 to 2-1/2 hours or until thermometer inserted into thickest part of roast registers 155°F. Remove roast from oven; let stand 15 minutes before slicing.
(A pre vegetable picture)
OK, I gotta go get ready for work. I’ll post the potato recipe later. Hasta luego!
Leave a Reply

