Post Bday Curry Shrimp

Whew, how is it Sunday evening already?!

This weekend just flew by, and last night of course, involved good times at the Wine Loft, where I was treated to some very tasty Cabernet by my friends. It was just the right way to bring in 25 — good friends and excellent wine.

But now, I’m looking to the week ahead, and am doing such fun things like cleaning. đŸ˜¦ (Note the sarcasm). It had to be done though. I couldn’t avoid it any longer.

Anyway, on to the food. One of my coworkers, who was also present for last night’s festivities, gave me this recipe for curry shrimp. He made it for a Christmas potluck, and I’ve been dying to make it ever since. And, this week, bags of frozen shrimp were on BOGO at the grocery store. So, I decided the time had come.

Side note: The shrimp was already peeled, so I didn’t have to deal with that nonsense. This was a very good thing because I’ve never made any sort of shrimp recipe before. I just order it in restaurants. If I had had to peel the shrimp, the chances of disaster would have gone way up. đŸ™‚

Ingredients: 1 pound shrimp, 1/2  cup of chopped tomatoes, 1/2 cup of chopped onions, 2 teaspoons of chopped garlic, 2 teaspoons of curry power, 1/4 cup of oil, 1 cup of water and a dash of salt & pepper, flour

Directions: Heat the oil in a large skillet, saute the tomatoes, onions, garlic and curry powder, add water slowly and bring to a boil. Add the shrimp. Cover and reduce the heat. Cook until shrimp is tender, about five or six minutes. Add 1 tbsp of butter just before it is ready (His words, not mine). Then, add flour to thicken the gravy . (You could also mix the flour and water together before you add it to the skillet)

Then serve over white rice with a side of vegetables. And voila!

This is so good! I thought mine could have used a bit of an extra kick though. I had run out of garlic, so I didn’t put in nearly the amount described, which may have been the missing flavor.  One pound make about two servings.

Anyone else have some curry recipes to share? I love the taste of it, but this is the only recipe I have that calls for it. Help!

One comment

  1. MaryMoh · March 1, 2010

    I love shrimps cooked in all ways. Curry shrimps is definitely one of my favourites.

Leave a Reply

