Recipes

Throwing Lots of Things in a Pot

I was trying to figure out what to make this week and I wanted to make a soup of some sort. I just couldn’t decide what type of soup. I was basically being picky.

So, I threw a bunch of things into a pot Sunday night to see what would happen.

Ingredients: 1 pound three-bean mix, 2 carrots chopped, 1 cup onion, 2 cans stewed tomatoes, 3 Italian sausages, 2 cans of chicken broth, 2 bay leaves

Directions: Rinse beans and combine in big pot with broth, carrots and onion and bay leaves. Cooking on low, cook pieces of sausage in frying pan and then add to pot of other ingredients. Add stewed tomatoes. Let simmer for about  45 minutes or until beans are tender.

Not sure what to say about the result. It doesn’t taste bad, but it does taste like a bunch of things that were just thrown into a pot. The ingredients sort of stand apart instead of blending, and it’s a little salty. Oh well. I tried. It’s going to work with me regardless. I need filling food during the day.

I actually tried to take it to work today, but my coworkers talked me into a trip to Five Guys. So bad for you, but so good. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Throwing Lots of Things in a Pot

Leave a Reply

