Uncategorized

My Grocery Cart

When I was shopping last Sunday morning, I had the random idea to photograph my grocery cart. I don’t normally feel the need to do so, but I was pondering how much my groceries would add up to at the end. I usually fall somewhere between the $40 to $50 range. It’s not intentional, that’s just what happens. So, I budget about $50 weekly on groceries.

One thing I’ve been trying to do more is actually look at the grocery ads that appear in my mailbox every Wednesday courtesy of the U.S. Postal Service. I wouldn’t have normally bought pork tenderloin or shrimp, but it was on sale, so why not?

For some reason, during my year of grad school, I didn’t track my grocery shopping spending too closely. I just shopped when I needed to. (I also ate out way too much in grad school, but that’s a whole other issue.)

But here’s what I’ve learned: BOGOs, grocery store cards and coupons are your friends. And read the ads in the paper or that come in the mail.

This cart should have been about $60 (There are a few more items you can’t see).

It was $47.

Looking at the grocery kart is causing me to evaluate my purchases. I probably didn’t need two cartons of strawberries, much as I love them or two cans of tomato sauce. I do have a bad habit of buying things when they are on sale just because they are on sale. Though, I really do love the strawberries.

There are some really smart purchases in there though. The tuna, for one, can be used for tuna melts or tuna salad stuffed peppers. The sausage was partly used for my random throw-everything-in-a-pot concoction, but will also be used next week for zucchini boats.

How do you keep your grocery bills down?

Leave a Reply

