Uncategorized

I’m Back!!

Whew, I’m back!

Sorry for my week long absence. Do you ever have one of those weeks where you get so off routine for two or three days that it entirely messes with the rest of the week? That was my week. There was no cooking, no exercising and far too little sleep. Instead,there was a lot of work and happy houring. By Friday night, I was feeling completely off balance.

So, this weekend, I decided to  unplug a bit. I read books, watched movies, went on a hike and planned recipes. I also slept in a bit. 🙂 It has been wonderful.

I’m making a new spinach lasagna recipe tonight, but I wanted to do a quick cooking news update this morning.

* To all you Julie and Julia fans, there is a new book coming out based on Julia’s letters to Avis, the woman who helped put the now famous French cookbook in front of publishing executives.

* A U.S. News & World Report piece on Michelle Obama’s anti-obesity efforts, which focus on home cooking.

* AOL has launched a new cooking site that relies on a lot of star power from the food world. Several ex-Gourmet editors are helping out as are New York Times columnist and author Mark Bittman, award-winning chef Marcus Samuelsson and “Top Chef” judge Gail Simmons.

* A piece on British cooking chef/personality Jamie Oliver and his trip to Huntington, WV. I just received his cookbook as a birthday gift and was marking it up with post-it notes last night. Lots of tasty looking recipes in there.

Leave a Reply

