Maybe When I Finish Work…

I have every intention of cooking tonight, I really do. I took a chicken breast out of the freezer at 8 a.m. and put it in the refrigerator to make chicken salad.

It’s now nearly 12 hours later, and I’m still at work. Actually, it’s pretty important. The Florida Legislature is debating paying teachers based on student performance on standardized exams.  So, I’m tracking the whole thing. But, it’s kind of getting in the way of me cooking. Boo. (We should note, I have some down time at the moment. I’m not shirking my duties.)

I still want to make this recipe tonight, but I’m not sure I’m going to get to it. Here’s the plan if I do. It’s a recipe from my friend Shannon. It is a curry chicken salad! I had a curry chicken salad for the first time when I lived in Springfield, Ill. for grad school, and it is amazing. 🙂

I wanted something pretty easy to make that was also summer-y. This seemed like the perfect answer.

Ingredients: 1/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt, 1/4 teaspoon curry powder, 2 tablespoons chopped green onion, 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest or 1 Tbsp lemon juice, 1/4 cup chopped celery, 1 to 2 tablespoons seedless raisins, 1/2 Granny Smith or other tart apple, peeled and chopped,  Sea salt and pepper, to taste, 2 cooked chicken breasts, shredded

Directions: In a large bowl, mix together the yogurt, curry powder, green onions, lemon zest or juice, celery, apples, raisins, salt and pepper, and chicken. If you like your salad more dry or more creamy, adjust the Greek yogurt by a tablespoon or so. Serve immediately over a bed of greens or on a whole-grain bread or wrap.
OK, off the top of my head I know I don’t have lemon juice or green onions and I ate the last apple yesterday. Hmmm.
2 comments

  1. Alison · April 8, 2010

    Sorry for your super busy schedule! Good thing it’s only temporary. That chicken salad recipe sounds really good! Hopefully you’ll be able to make it soon.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Dinners « More Than Easy Mac

Leave a Reply

