Uncategorized

Sunday Dinners

Yay, I finally cooked! It seems like the first time in weeks (well, it probably is).

I was looking through my computer files and came across a word doc called “Random recipes from Mom” and decided to make her steak with wine and mushrooms recipes. She makes it pretty often at home, but I have never attempted. I love, love, love steak, but for some reason, I don’t cook it too much.

But I figured I should conquer cooking steak eventually, so I picked up some at Publix. I also picked up some cab for the recipe, which I drank while I cooked. I’m so my mother’s daughter. 🙂

Side note: My mom also submitted this about nine years ago to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette food section, which interviewed her and ran the recipe.

My turn…

Ingredients: 2 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp oil, 2 large garlic cloves cut in half, 1 1/2 to 2 pounds sirloin, black pepper to taste, 1/2 pound presliced mushrooms, 1 cup red wine

Directions: In a heavy skillet, heat butter and oil over moderately high heat. Add garlic. Sprinkle steak with black pepper and place in hot skillet. For medium-rare, cook about 7 minutes (I cooked it 5 minutes on each side); turn, cook 2 minutes and add mushrooms. Cook 5 minutes more, stirring mushrooms several times. Remove steak to a heated platter in a 200-degree oven.

Pour wine into skillet (we used 2/3 cup because our steak was slightly more than 1 pound) and stir to loosen browned bits. Mash garlic to a paste with a fork. Increase heat to high and cook 2 to 3 minutes until liquid is syrupy (it didn’t actually get syrupy, but it still tasted good)

Slice steak thinly across the grain. Spoon mushroom sauce over meat.

I used 1 lb of sirloin and a 1/2 cup of cabernet sauvignon, instead of 2/3 cup like my mom suggested, and I think I needed just a tiny bit more for the sauce because I felt like the meat ended up a little dry– I kind of charred it on the one side. I also used baby bellas instead of regular sliced mushrooms and they tasted fantastic. I could have eaten just the mushrooms.

I also had a bowl of strawberries for dessert. They weren’t the best strawberries I’ve had this spring, but strawberries are definitely one of my favorite foods, so I’ll eat them any time.

OK, now I’m setting the goal to try to cook at least two more new things this week to make up for my lack of cooking lately. I bought kale to make kale chips and I’m going to make that chicken salad recipe I posted earlier tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

