Recipes

Catching Up

My Mom took me to task tonight for not updating the blog lately. She said she couldn’t look at pumpkin pancakes anymore. 🙂

And now that my crazy work schedule has come to an end, I’m back to cooking and blogging. I’ve actually been cooking a lot of new things the past two weeks, but I haven’t had time to post. So, I’ve got Grey’s Anatomy on in the background and recipes to share. Well, I’m going to just post this one now, and then will post the others I’ve made the past two weeks over the new few days.

But for tonight, I want to talk about crepes. I first had crepes when I was in Madrid six years ago. An older, wiser traveling companion told me to order them for dessert and I indulged in the flaky pancake-like dough with ice cream and chocolate galore. Heavenly.

This past weekend, I was in Bradenton, Fla. visiting my college friend Halle who works for the Sarasota Herald-Tribune. For breakfast, we hit up a local place (whose name I can’t remember) and I ordered the most amazing breakfast crepes. They were stuffed with bananas and strawberries, topped with yogurt and served with a small side of granola.

I decided I needed to make my own. So, I found a really basic recipe on allrecipes.com.

Ingredients: 1 cup flour, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, 2 tbsp melted butter, bananas and strawberries sliced, powdered sugar.

Directions: Whisk together flour, eggs, water, milk and butter. Pour 1/4 cup batter onto a sprayed pan and tilt pan until the batter covers the pan evenly. Cook for two minutes on medium heat and flip to the other side. Rub a pinch of sugar into the dough before placing fruit in wrap and then sprinkle some more on top.

The original recipe didn’t call for the sugar, but I thought the taste of the crepe was a little bland. Comments on the allrecipes.com site suggested adding vanilla or powdered sugar. I didn’t finish putting the crepes together until about 8:30 p.m. and I was so hungry by then that I wolfed them down without taking a picture.

I did, however, take a picture of the cooking process. I sort of messed up the first one when I flipped it. Oops.

2 thoughts on “Catching Up

Leave a Reply

