Classing Up Some Spaghetti

When I was a little kid, I used to love spaghetti and meatballs. I always requested it as my birthday meal, so there are tons of pictures with me and a messy plate of sauce. I no longer request it for my birthday, but I still have a soft spot for pasta (and pretty much any other Italian food).

For my birthday this year, a coworker gave me Jamie Oliver’s “Food Revolution” cookbook. I have it marked up with sticky notes, checking off all the recipes I want to try. A few days ago, I randomly decided to make Oliver’s “Classic Tomato Pasta” to take to work for lunch.

Instead of sauce, it relies on diced tomatoes, garlic, olive oil, fresh basil, garlic and Parmesan cheese.  I didn’t totally rely on the cookbook to prepare the dish. I was running late for work, so I pretty much cooked the pasta and mixed in all the other ingredients. Oliver’s recipe also called for one red chile, which I just didn’t have in my kitchen.

Ingredients: Wheat pasta, 1 garlic clove sliced finely, a small bunch of fresh basil, freshly ground pepper, 1 x 14-ounce can of diced tomatoes, Parmesan cheese (amount according to your preference)

Directions: Cook pasta according to box directions and drain in colander. Immediately mix in the other ingredients and serve.

Oliver’s original recipe calls for a pound of pasta, 2 garlic cloves and 1X 14 oz can of diced tomatoes. Since I was only cooking for one, I adapted a bit. I cooked about half the box of pasta, so I would have leftovers, used one garlic clove and just sort of mixed in the cheese until I was satisfied. I sadly didn’t take a picture of the pasta, but let me assure you, it was delicious. It was very fresh and light without the heavy tomato sauce. I would definitely make spaghetti this way again.

Leave a Reply

