Recipes

Superbly Simple Shrimp Stir Fry

Good morning! Happy Monday!

I’m finishing my granola before I head out the door to work, but I wanted to write up my randomly put together shrimp stir fry. I really love shrimp, and I’ve been playing around with recipes because I bought two bags of frozen shrimp on BOGO. (Who doesn’t love a good BOGO?)

Here’s what you need for two servings…

Ingredients: 1/2 pound of shrimp, 1 bag of an Asian vegetable medley, 1 tbsp olive oil,  about 1/8 cup soy sauce, 1/2 tsp ground ginger, 1/4 tsp garlic powder. Optional: Rice

Directions: Cook veggies according to directions. (In the case of the Steamfresh, 5:30 minutes in the micro). Meanwhile, heat 1 tbsp of olive oil in pan and cook shrimp until pink. While shrimp and veggies are cooking, combine soy sauce, garlic powder and ground ginger in bowl. When veggies are done, pour them over the shrimp in the frying pan. Then, pour the soy sauce mixture over the food and let cook for about a minute, stirring thoroughly so the sauce is spread throughout. Eat by itself or serve with rice.

Cheating note: I actually took this picture (and the next one) two weeks ago when I concocted this for the first time. Last night was my second attempt at it. The only difference was that I ate it without rice this time.

And, like last time, I made enough for two, so leftovers!

So tasty! I know a lot of stir fry recipes call for peanut oil and a lot of other ingredients, but I liked this combo just fine. It’s very flavorful and so easy to put together. It’s not something you’d really mind doing when you come home from a long day at work or school because you don’t have to stand over the stove for that long. It probably takes 15 minutes max.

One thought on “Superbly Simple Shrimp Stir Fry

  1. This sounds fantastic! I have a bag of frozen shrimp, Steamers and some brown rice all at hand. Coincidence? I think not. 😉

Leave a Reply

