Easy Pork Chops

Another recipe from my blogging break last month when work totally spun out of control and I just wanted to hide under the covers…

When I was little (Ok, I’ve only been on my own two years now, so not that long ago), my mom used to make pork chops all the time. They were delicious and so flavorful that I didn’t even know how to replicate. For some reason, it didn’t occur to me to ask my mom until recently how she made them.

Side note: My mom’s a really good cook, so I sort of assumed it was a rather involved process.

What did I discover in this process? This meal was more of my mom’s last minute, end-of-the day, I’m- really- kind- of -tired -but- the- kids- need-to- eat- well meal.  She used McCormick’s “Bag ‘n Season” Pork Chops that you buy in the spice section of the grocery store. Basically, you cover the pork chops with the seasoning, throw them in a bag (provided with the McCormick packet) and toss them in the oven.

Ingredients: Bag ‘n Season, pork chops (no more than six), 1/4 cup water

Directions: Cover the pork chops with seasoning and place them in  the bag provided. Then  pour 1/4 cup water over the pork chops and tie bag shut. Cut four small holes near top of the bag to let steam escape. Cook for 20 to 25 minutes at 350 degrees.

Serve with au gratin potatoes and veggie of choice. (I just had a side salad.)

So good! It reminds me of having dinner at home with my family and I ❤ the flavor. So glad I finally asked Mom about it.  My sister says she’s going to live off these pork chops next year in her apartment.

I decided to 2010 tag the recipe  because truthfully, it is something new that I have learned to make, even if it does come from a bag. 🙂

Leave a Reply

