News

Five Days Til Pittsburgh!

I’m counting down the days until I fly to Pittsburgh, land of the Steelers, Primanti brother sandwiches and obviously my family.

But today has been off to a great start. First off, Happy Saturday! I started the day off far too early by going hiking with my friend Lynn at the Leon Sinks, which is this really beautiful area in Apalachicola Forest that has a ton of sink holes. Sounds kind of boring, I know, but it’s really pretty. And there are a lot of great trails. Make sure to bring lots of bug spray as the mosquitoes are everywhere. Bleh.

I was starving by the time I got home, so I made up a veggie-friendly lunch. Not my favorite combo of vegetables, but it worked. Basically, I was just hungry and I was working with what I had in the refrigerator at the time (baby bellas, zucchini, red onion and corn).

And now…some foodie news and notes for Saturday, May 22. 🙂

* The NY Times food blog has a great Q and A with a retired NYC extension agent about the best way to grow food.

* The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette talks with Barbara Lynch, a Boston chef and author of the cookbook “Stir.”

* The best veggies to steam, by the Food Network via the Seattle Times. I think I’d go with cauliflower as my favorite.

* You too can cook with a Top Chef.

* And last but not least, some tasty looking recipes… 5 fool-proof recipes for recent college grads, focaccia bread and carmelized onion and prosciutto pizza.

Well, that’s it. Hope you all have a fun Saturday and you can relax like my little lazy cat Georgia here.

Leave a Reply

