Recipes

Skinny Pie

I went home for lunch today (ah the benefits of living three miles away) and after a pretty healthy lunch, I realized I really just wanted chocolate.

I  bought some chocolate chips and walnuts to make oatmeal chocolate chip cookies the other day, but hadn’t gotten around to actually making them.  So, I grabbed a handful of the chocolate and a few nuts and spread them over a whole wheat tortilla, which I then popped in the microwave for about a minute. I rolled it up and ate it like a burrito.

The best part about this? It tastes like Toll House Pie, a pie my mom started making a few years back (recipe below). This has become so popular among my sister’s high school friends that they request it whenever they are on break from college. One of my sister’s best friends loves it so much that my mom even sent it to her at school for her birthday one year.

The tortilla, chocolate, walnut concoction is the skinny Toll House Pie. Seriously, so good, but not as rich and heavy as the real stuff. Also, fewer calories and more fiber. All around win. 🙂

Here’s the real one.

Ingredients: 2 eggs, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 cup butter melted to room temperature, 1 cup chocolate chips, 1 cup chopped walnuts, 1 – 9 inch unbaked pie shell.

Directions: In medium mixing bowl, beat eggs until foamy. Beat in flour and sugars until well blended. Stir in melted butter then add chocolate chips and walnuts. Pour into pie shell and bake for one hour at 325 degrees. Serve with ice cream or whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

